Kathy and Bob Harrington Award

Spirit of Volunteerism"

Harrington Trophy

Bob Harrington joined the Corinthian Sailing Club in 1987 and his wife Kathy in 2004.  Bob was Rear Commodore of Equipment for three-years from 1994 through 1996, Commodore in 1997, and Rear Commodore of Equipment again until he passed in 2019. 

Both Kathy and Bob were always the first to pitch in with whatever needed to be done by helping to prepare the clubhouse for the many social events and regattas doing everything - from setting up to emptying the trash and all things in between.  In addition, they kept the club well stocked with everything from light bulbs to paper plates to gas grills. Both were the first to arrive after one of our famous floods to begin scrubbing and power washing and were often last to leave.

Bob has kept the committee and rescue boats running in tip-top shape. He was the reason all our boats and related equipment were so dependable and always ready-to-use.

Kathy was as tireless and dedicated as Bob.  Over the years, Kathy has decorated the clubhouse for most social events and regattas in addition to helping prepare and serve the food, and then, putting it all away when finished. 

Kathy and Bob embodied the spirit of volunteerism, unselfish and tirelessly enriching the quality of life for all of their fellow members.  

The Corinthian Sailing Club is an all-volunteer club - meaning almost everything that needs to be done is done by member volunteers.  Volunteers are the heart of our club whether it involves painting the clubhouse or setting up a race course for Sunday races. The Kathy and Bob Harrington Award was created in 2013 to honor their dedication to Corinthian Sailing Club and to recognize a member who personifies the Spirit of Volunteerism. Each year, the club’s board shall solicit nominations and select the awardee. The award will presented each fall at the Annual Banquet.


2023 Mandy McCracken-Atkins

2022 Graham Bryant

2021 Ellen Bryant

2020 Graham Bryant

2019 Lauri Block

2018 Frank Richards

2017 Allan Schmitt

2016 Bob Gough

2015 Bob Gough

2014 Bob Gough

2013 Alanna Strong