Norman B. Watkins Award 

Norm Watkins

Who was Norm Watkins? For ten years from 1963 to 1973, Norm provided area sailors an insight into the sport of sailing and its techniques.  Upon his untimely death, he had contributed directly to the sailing skill of a large number of the CSC members.  He performed elected and assigned duties with exceptional drive and enjoyment.  He actively sought ways to help others enjoy sailing.

He loved sailing, was an outstanding competitor and demonstrated a high sense of sportsmanship. Many times, he was the first to notice a dangerous situation, a downed boat or an inappropriate decision. He gave unselfishly of his time and energy. He performed each task the best way he knew and never failed to seek and consider the ideas of others.

His sportsmanship is demonstrated by his coaching of new sailors on the dock between races.  Norm believed that sailors defeat  themselves through the errors they make.  He knew that no one ever sailed a perfect race - the winner simply made the fewest or least critical mistakes.  He discussed his mistakes, and other errors that he had observed, suggesting ways to avoid the more obvious and fatal errors.

Watkins 2016

The Norm Watkins Award is presented annually to the member of CSC who best represented the club as a Corinthian Sailor. He or she may have provided unusual leadership, served to promote the sport of sailing, or trained others in sailing or seamanship. This trophy then commemorates a person who enjoyed what he did and did what he could to help others.

Selection Process:  Each fleet may nominate one person from the fleet and one person at large for the award.  The Board can also nominate someone.  The Board votes on the nominees.  In the event of a tie, the Commodore decides.  The award is presented at the Annual CSC Business Meeting.




Past recipients of the Norm Watkins Award are:

2023 Renee Comen

2022 Burt Gilson

2021 Jim Stillson

2020 Gene Soltero

2019 Anderson Jones

2018 Griffin Orr

2017 Robert Cummings

2016 Ralph Jones

2015 Tom Miller

2014 Gene Soltero

2013 Renee Comen

2012 Mike Hansen

2011 Forest Atkins

2010 Jim O'Connor 

2009 Norm Grail 

2008 Mike Rist 

2007 Anderson Jones 

2006 Bill Wilson 

2005 Steve Comen

2004 Scott Mauney

2003 Sandy Dennison

2002 Chris Dukeminier

2001 Mac McCoy

2000 Tom Forgue 

1999 David J. Barrett 

1998 Roger Hansen 

1997 Linsay "Duke" O'Connor 

1996 Michael Mittman 

1995 Bob Harrington 

1994 Max Hibbs 

1993 Carol Gough 

1992 Dick Grigsby 

1991 Allen Tuell 

1990 Joe Brockette 

1989 Richard Wade 

1988 Ed Lockey 

1987 Frank Richards 

1986 Ralph Jones 

1985 Thomas W. Shepard, Jr. 

1984 Ralph Jones 

1983 Jerrold D. Wilson 

1982 Rowe Verschoyle 

1981 Marke Smith 

1980 Larry Colgin 

1979 Brad Davis 

1978 J.W. Jones 

1977 Randy Robinson 

1976 Dave Flanigan 

1975 Nat Wells III 

1974 John Diggins 

1973 Robert W. Gough, Jr.